Diagram of Toyota Safety Sense Pedestrian Detection with Silver Car and Pedestrian Outlined in Red Crossing the street

Toyota Safety Sense™ Gets an Upgrade for the 2018 Model Year

New Second-Generation Toyota Safety Sense™ Features and Technology

Toyota models are on the cutting edge of automotive technology and Toyota Safety Sense™ is an important aspect of Toyota safety. Armed with standard Toyota Safety Sense™ technology, 11 Toyota models have earned IIHS Top Safety Pick or Top Safety Pick+ awards. With an eye on the future, Toyota engineers have upgraded the innovative suite of safety features for the new model year. Explore the new second-generation Toyota Safety Sense™ features and technology with this guide.

READ MORE: How Does Toyota Dynamic Radar Cruise Control Work?

Which Toyota Models Are Equipped with Toyota Safety Sense™?

Toyota Safety Sense™ is a standard fixture for many models that puts the Toyota brand ahead of the curve. Current models are available with one of two Toyota Safety Sense™ packages – TSS-C that employs a Pre-Collision System, Lane Departure Alert and Auto High Beams or TSS-P that adds a Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection, Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist, Auto High Beams and Dynamic Radar Cruise Control. Take a look at a list of Toyota models that employ a variation of Toyota Safety Sense™ below.

  • 2018 Toyota Yaris 
  • 2018 Toyota Prius c 
  • 2018 Toyota Corolla 
  • 2018 Toyota Corolla iM 
  • 2018 Toyota Prius 
  • 2018 Toyota Prius Prime 
  • 2018 Toyota Camry 
  • 2018 Toyota Avalon 
  • 2018 Toyota Avalon Hybrid 
  • 2018 Toyota RAV4 
  • 2018 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid 
  • 2018 Toyota C-HR 
  • 2018 Toyota Sienna 
  • 2018 Toyota Highlander 
  • 2018 Toyota Highlander Hybrid 
  • 2018 Toyota Sequoia 
  • 2018 Toyota Land Cruiser 
  • 2018 Toyota Tundra 
  • 2018 Toyota Tacoma 

Updates and Changes to Toyota Safety Sense™ Systems

With three key goals – frontal collision prevention, increased driver awareness and improved nighttime driving safety – Toyota Safety Sense™ promises to deliver peace of mind. Second-generation Toyota Safety Sense™ systems put focus on driver awareness with an updated Pre-Collision System, Lane Departure Alert and Dynamic Radar Cruise Control. New additions to the Toyota Safety Sense™ system will include Road Sign Assist and Lane Tracing Assist. Second-generation Toyota Safety Sense™ technology will be available in mid 2018.


Road Sign Assist – Road Sign Assist was designed and developed to provide drivers with road sign information on the instrument display or the Toyota Camry Head-Up Display. This new technology employs an onboard camera that has the ability to detect and recognize common road signs. 

Green, Blue and Yellow Toyota Safety Sense Logo with Center Black Hexagon with Toyota Safety Sense Text


Lane Tracing Assist – New Toyota models equipped with Toyota Safety Sense™ will add Lane Tracing Assist. Lane Tracing Assist provides added steering support that will help keep you and your Toyota vehicle centered in your respective lane when Dynamic Radar Cruise Control is employed. 

READ MORE: What is Toyota Intelligent Clearance Sonar and How Does it Work?

Safety is an important asset for families on the go and the Toyota brand delivers on all counts with standard Toyota Safety Sense™ technology that gets an upgrade for the new model year. Learn more about new second-generation Toyota Safety Sense™ features and technology with this overview by Downeast Toyota. Visit the Downeast Toyota inventory today and test drive a model equipped with Toyota Safety Sense™!